2014 in review

I received this summary from WordPress.com and it’s kind of neat. So, I’d like to share it with you if that’s okay.

I write essays for a number of reasons: sharing my faith, providing witness to truth, asking our Lord – no begging Him – to use me as a vehicle for His honor and glory. These are my primary reasons because they grant me a glimpse of what St. Francis called “true joy.”

I’ve never tried to publicize what I do. My blog is still a private place, a repository for a body of work still in progress. A few of my stories have been posted on Facebook, mostly by a family member, or a publisher (because that’s what they have to do to stay in business). And, indeed, having a story published by a magazine or journal or newspaper, or shared on someone else’s blog or web site is thrilling and satisfying, yet completely humbling, because I know tens-of-thousands of people from all over the world have actually read and digested what I’ve written. And, this brings tears to my eyes.

Someone asked me just last week what was my best Christmas present ever. Without hesitation, I answered it was the Christmas my mom gave me a dictionary. I know, that’s sounds weird. But, it would be like giving my brother Jimmy, a set of drums, or my sister Patty, a piano, or Shannon Sullivan a camera. Because my mom was telling me at a very young and impressionable age “I believe in what you believe in.” No greater gift, besides life itself, can be given than to let someone know you have faith in their dreams.

I still use that dictionary when I need to define something and yet words escape me, as they’re doing now.

This new year, let me know what you think of my stories. Share your own. Let’s start a conversation. May you and your loved ones be blessed with joy and peace. So be it “Amen.”

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2014 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

A San Francisco cable car holds 60 people. This blog was viewed about 540 times in 2014. If it were a cable car, it would take about 9 trips to carry that many people.

Click here to see the complete report.

Standard

2 thoughts on “2014 in review

  1. Love this post, Uncle George. I wish I had Jetpack installed on my blog so I could see my year in review 😦 I traded Jetpack in for Google Analytics a while ago but everyone is talking about how cool the annual stats report is. Way to go–9 trips on a cable car is no joke. Glad you had a very successful year!

Leave a Reply

